Tasmania's ghost towns are not usually found at the top of a traveler's 'must visit' list and it's tough to compete with some of the most beautiful vistas in the world. A true gem in Australia, this lesser-visited country still has extremely seemingly inaccessible locations but the locals known otherwise. Tucked between mountains and valleys lie Tasmania's abandoned towns, each of which was once a bustling location with much potential.
From mining towns to an abandoned hydro-power plant, Tasmania has a history that long precedes the rainforests and flawless beaches that many seek in this country. There's a reason these are called the 'ghost towns of Tasmania,' and these pictures show exactly how eerie their memories really are.
Also part of a World Heritage Area, the town of Pillinger has been a ghost town for some time now. The basis for this town was a railroad company that allowed the town to become a port of sorts, bringing materials in as well as transporting them out.
the town was founded in 1897 and was eventually abandoned in 1925 after its James Crotty, the founder of the North Mount Lyell Company, died, the entire town shut down. After the construction of the railway was in place, people flocked to the town and boosted the population tremendously. However, it didn't' take long before it became a ghost town with no work and no incoming plans for a revival.
In order to reach East Pillinger, hikers can follow both the railway and the river in Pillinger that lead into the town. The hike itself is roughly four hours and starts at Kelly Basin Road. Once they've reached East Pillinger, the ruins of the abandoned town will be in plain sight, tucked between the forest covering.
The famed town of Linda is well-known in the ghost town world due to the Royal Hotel, which still stands in remarkable condition considering the environment and weather patterns in the area. Part of the intention of the town of Linda was to support the North Mount Lyell Mine, as it was one of the major terminals along the railway.
During the town's heyday, it wasn't exactly the best place to live - the town was known for being quite 'rough and tumble,' according to Australian Geographic. Fights were constantly breaking out between the Italian immigrants and the locals who lived in the town and it's rumored that one man was even stabbed during a particularly gruesome brawl.
While this town doesn't have the most pristine history, it is part of Tasmania's history and, specifically, the history of the railroad that once held such promise here. Now, visiting it is truly a reminder of mining history, as the entire town was abandoned during 1912 after a mining disaster that killed 42 people after a fire broke out as a result.
This town was given a unique, and fitting, name, as Waddamana means 'noisy water' in the Aboriginal language. This town became home to the first hydro-water power plant in Tasmania, dating back to its construction in 1910.
The bodies of water responsible for powering this plant were the Great Lake and the Shannon River, however, the plant was officially decommissioned in 1994 and was turned into a museum shortly after.
Nowadays, visitors can still see several abandoned buildings including the power plant, along with several homes that have since been left to nature. The cottages stand as a reminder of what promise this town also held as the museum sits open to those wanting to learn about its history.
In close proximity to Linda (which is why many of the ruins overlap) was Gormanston, which is where the mining disaster associated with the desertion of Linda actually occurred. The fire trapped an additional 100 people and while Linda was slowly abandoned, Gormanston was in for more trouble down the road.
In 1951, Gormanston was only a shell of what it once was when cyclone-strength winds whipped through the town, destroying the school, fire station, and many homes in the process. As a result, more people moved from town, leaving it what it is today.
By 2013, a total of only six people still dwelled in the town, making it one of the smallest populations in the region. The remaining ruins of the town can still be seen for those who choose to visit.